Catch-all

There hasn’t been a great deal of production lately, but there has been some, and the holidays provided some much needed crafting time.

A colleague recently had a baby girl, which occasioned some baby knitting:
Baby gift. Can't decide if I like the booties better with the embroidery or without.

The hat is the (very popular) devil’s cap.

The booties are the ingenious Hodge. I love, love these booties, which take less than a day each, but involve no seaming! Check out the sole construction:
Baby gift. Can't decide if I like the booties better with the embroidery or without.

The contrast yarn is some leftover burgundy yarn from one of my earliest projects, and the main colour is Rowan Felted Tweed DK. I had seven balls lying in my stash for several years, but I recently completed a sweater from it. It was a pattern I’ve had my eye on for years, the Turbulence Pullover from Norah Gaughan’s fabulous Knitting Nature:
Turbulence pullover, from Knitting Nature by Norah Gaughan. Added two inches in length, which was necessary.

The only modification I made to this wonderful pattern was adding two inches of lengh to the body (but it is still significantly shorter than most pullovers I buy for myself). It is absolutely one of the most successful knits I’ve ever made for myself.

Turbulence pullover, from Knitting Nature by Norah Gaughan. Added two inches in length, which was necessary.

As the pictures reveal, it has been a few months since the pullover was completed. A more recent FO, however, was the first piece I have sewn since last spring:

White cotton jersey pencil dress

It is white cotton jersey. The pattern is a version of my trusty scratch-off pattern. The modifications I made were the split neckline (tricky to sew, but good-looking) and a narrower skirt, copied from a pencil dress I wear a lot.

White cotton jersey pencil dress

I keep the split neckline opening closed with a narrow gold-plated chain. The fabric turned out a little floppier than I thought, so the chain keeps the neckline from flopping open.

And my Easter knitting this year – a Pi shawl per Elizabeth Zimmermann, knit from a handspun silk/BFL combo. It is rather small, but beautiful:
Pi shawl per Elizabeth Zimmerman. Hand spun silk/BFL

The inner circles are solid, and the outermost circle is knit in old shale:
Pi shawl per Elizabeth Zimmerman. Hand spun silk/BFL

0 Responses to “Catch-all”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


