Shetland on the Potomac

I just finished a second Shetland Triangle Lace shawl.

IMAG0384

I wound the yarn as soon as my new ChiaoGoo swift arrived after my birthday in January (winding 400+ metres of laceweight without a swift: recipe for disaster), and cast on in mid-January. It’s been my go-to project since, but it took a little while to complete. I thought a weekeend in a car driving to and from New York would do it, but I managed to forget the edging chart at home(!) Now, at least, it’s done and blocked. I thought the second prettiest thing in the DC metro area deserved to be photographed with the absolutely prettiest thing around here right now: the cherry blossoms.

IMAG0381

Laceweight shawls are so wispy. The yarn is Manos del Uruguay Lace in a (with hindsight slightly too busy) variegated brown.

IMAG0382

The shawl is more brown than it appears in these pictures. More like this:

IMAG0387

I intended to keep this shawl myself, but we’ll see. As soon as my mother saw the yarn, she laid claim to the resulting project. The only question is: hasn’t she got enough shawls already?

0 Responses to “Shetland on the Potomac”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


