Reappearing

So, this has been a busy six months. Some of you may remember that this blog used to be called “Expat knits and crochets”. I am once again an expat, this time based in Washington, D.C. The last few months have been filled up with everything but knitting, spinning or crocheting. There have been school and preschool entry bureaucracy, getting settled into the house, learning my way around US grocery stores, identifying necessary foodstuffs and baking supplies…

But I’m back! And I have a couple of small things to show you:

IMAG0429

Around Halloween I made a few dishcloths in very autumn-y colours. I gave a few away as hostess gifts (the expat life!), but some are hanging around my kitchen, cheering me up whenever I see them.

knitsfall2011 003

I needed black mittens. That’s really all there is to this project. Garter-cuff mittens by Deborah Newton, in black Sandnes Smart superwash wool.

I have a couple of WIPs going – I’m leaving out yet another hostess gift dishcloth…

knitsfall2011 007

This is, yes, a Noro striped scarf, bolstering my reputation as an extremely tardy bandwagon-jumper. These scarves made the blog round a couple of years ago, I think. I am striping two balls of the same colourway, but started the balls from opposite ends.

knitsfall2011 009

Montego Bay Scarf in Fleece Artist SeaSilk. I bought the yarn as a souvenir in London in 2007, and it still holds the honour as the most expensive single skein I have ever bought.

0 Responses to “Reappearing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


