A wool felt extravaganza

I told you before that I intended to sew some dresses out of wool felt (actually a wool bouclé felt), and now they are both done. Using the same pattern as my chenille lounging dress, only in a size 38,  I made a black dress with sleeves and a brown sleeveless dress. I apologize in advance for the truly atrocious pictures, I swear the dresses actually look good on, and I’ve received several compliments on them (and not of the “oh, how lovely and handmade” variety either).

Wool bouclé dress

Styled with a red ribbon for New Year’s Eve dinner, this dress took me three days of cutting and sewing over the Christmas holiday. I’ve worn it several times to work, but I need to find a scarf or a nice and long piece of jewelry to lighten the all-black a little.

Here’s a truly horrible alternative shot (yes, that’s a public restroom), which I think shows off the shape a little better:

black wool dress

And the brown, sleeveless version, finished in two evenings just this week:
dress2

Alternate shot:

dress1This is a little less gloomy, being sleeveless, but I almost regret not putting sleeves on it, as I was significantly colder in the brown one than in the black. I’m thinking of wearing the brown with burnt orange next.

Both dresses: Pattern and fabric from Stoff & Stil

But that’s not all you can make with wool felt. Using leftovers from a brown sweater featured here before and some Nepal Wool felt from Panduro, I made my son some slippers:

IMAG0073The only change I made from the pattern in the excellent Brukt på Nytt, was to add some elastic around the opening, so they would stay on the foot better. I confess to being charmed by the improvised car embroidery.

0 Responses to “A wool felt extravaganza”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


