What love (and a guilty conscience) will do

For Christmas 2008 I knit my daughter a jacket. It took only a few short months for my son to start asking when I would knit him a jacket as well. I like to think that I love my children equally, but what held me back was my son’s total aversion to all things wool, and an almost similar aversion on my part to knitting large items with acrylic blends. Given time, though, it’s amazing what a guilty motherly conscience will achieve:

Jakke

Pattern: Kragejakke i 3-trådsgarn from Strikk til nøstebarn.

Yarn: Schachenmayr Punto (55 % cotton, 45 % acrylic) in the colour “ciel” – #00053. A little less than seven balls total, I think.

Needles: 3.5 and 4.5 mm

Modifications: This pattern is the same that I used for my daughter’s jacket, but I made a few changes. I wanted a more grown-up feel, so I changed the ribbing in the hem and collar to a tight garter stitch. Because I was afraid of running out of yarn for the button band, I opted for a zipper instead of buttons. But the experience from my daughter’s jacket tells me a zipper is significantly easier than buttoning many tiny buttons anyway.

In fact, I’m rather proud of the zipper installation. Inspired, coached and tutored by Grumperina and the Knitmore Girls, I decided to back the zipper with ribbon to make it more stable and less likely to pinch or chafe. My handsewing leaves a lot to be desired, but I’m chuffed about the end result:
jakkepingping

For the backing, I chose a cotton-polyester bias tape printed with dancing penguins. This turned out to be very popular, because my son’s kindergarten class has a penguin mascot named PingPing that kids take turns bringing home. When he saw the jacket with the zipper installed he exclaimed “and here’s PingPing!”

Jakkedetalj

2 Responses to “What love (and a guilty conscience) will do”


  1. 1 Pola 28 March, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    That is downright smart and handsome. And you included Ping-Ping, as well. Congratulations, you did a beautiful job! Lovely!

  2. 2 Jill 26 July, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Gorgeous! I love the zipper – will have to try that kind of backing one day.


Leave a Reply

Archives


