Inspiration

I have a couple of FOs to show off, but no pictures as yet, unfortunately. So right now I’d like to share two new books that have inspired me in the last few weeks

Kathrine Gregersen (Samlaget 2008): Brukt på nytt
bruktpånytt1
This Norwegian book is filled with projects to reuse and recycle materials you have in your home. There are knitting, sewing, paper, wood and metal projects. The projects are very simple and charming, and I find the redesign ideas very useful. This book has me looking at our pile of old bed sheets with a calculating eye. In the top picture is the book, two dishcloths inspired by the book and two balls of rags cut from old t-shirts. I’m currently making this:
bruktpånytt2

A bathmat from t-shirt rags. Actually, this project reminds me a lot of the rag knitting in the first Mason-Dixon book, but the idea is probably not original to either book. The styling in this book, however, makes the projects very appealing.

This book should probably be considered a gateway drug. After I bought it for the knitting projects, I borrowed my mother’s sewing machine to try the sewing patterns. This inexorably, and with a few days, led me to buy this:

Heather Ross (STC Craft 2009) Weekend Sewing
weekendsewing

A couple of projects from this book that I would like to make once my sewing improves a little:

kimonodress
Kimono dress with an obi-inspired sash

bag
A bag to hold my whole life

cottondress
Cotton shirt dress – ideal for work!

And last under the heading of “inspiration”: After realising that I’m about to develop a serious sewing habit, I had to start budgeting. So I visited the home textiles shops and took advantage of the late summer sales. The below fabrics are (on left) two 100 % cotton tablecloths, 150 cm * 220 (i. e. a LOT of fabric), which were discounted down to $4 each, and (on right) two 150cm * 1m pieces of thicker curtain fabrics, also 100 % cotton, which were 70 % off. I’m considering the two curtain fabrics for the bag above.

fabrics

0 Responses to “Inspiration”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


