Woollen woes

I haven’t been spinning long, and I have never taken a class or even watched anyone spinning on a wheel in real life. As a consequence, certain skills are rather hard to acquire. For a while now, I’ve wanted to learn woollen spinning. Woollen spinning refers to a type of wool preparation and a technique that, when combined, gives a lofty and airy yarn with low stitch definition but a great deal of warmth. Proper woollen spinning requires carded fibres, and my problems are compounded by the fact that I don’t really know how to card. I have hand cards, and I try to produce good rolags, but  I really have no idea what I’m doing. Recently, inspired by this article in KnittySpin, I decided to try blending some merino top on my hand cards. Here is the result, rolags pulled into roving with the two merino tops behind:
cardingexperiment

I have given it a quick test run on my wheel, and I still am nowhere near mastering the woollen long draw. I’ve watched YouTube videos and re-read all my spinning books on the long draw, but so far no luck. This is one of the nice aspects of crafting for me – it’s a low-stakes activity of continual learning and improvement. That said, though, I would like to get the hang of it soon.

0 Responses to “Woollen woes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


