Subtle spinning

From my limited observation of spinners and spinning blogs, I get the feeling that many start out spinning multicoloured and rainbow roving and top, then move on to heathered and striated blends and often end up spinning relatively solid-coloured or even natural-coloured wool. As a new spinner, I confess that I’m drawn to colourful fibre, but this latest spinning project taught me something about the value of more subtle colour:

allspunup BFL superwash on the niddy

This is BFL superwash from Allspunup, around 70 grams of it. It was a lovely spin, and this two-ply turned out quite even at around fingering weight. All told, I have around 110 grams and enough for a pair of socks, unless I can find another project that more prominently displays my murky, subtle yarn.

0 Responses to “Subtle spinning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


