Faroese troubles

I’m knitting along on my Faroese shawl, and desperately plying yarn to get a new skein finished before I run out of yarn. But there have been some frustrations. The pattern I’m using is Meg Swansen’s “Yellow Shawl” (Ravelry link) from Shawls and Scarves: Best of Knitter’s Magazine. I like the pattern (although the sample in the book is, imho, knit at the wrong gauge), but holy mackerel, the errata! I was a good little knitter and downloaded the complete set of errata from the publishers, XRX books. I went through it and noted with some irritation that there was errata for both the gusset chart and the written finishing instructions. I copied the charts and made the necessary corrections to my working copies. And then (cue ominous, Hitchcock-like music) I started knitting the pattern rows. On the fifth row of the chart, the problems started. I knit the first half, ended up with one stitch less than necessary and noticed that the whole pattern was off by one stitch. Ripped back and started over. The exact same thing happened. I knit and ripped the same row three times before I gave up and went to bed. The next morning, I decided to go through the errata pages again just on the off chance that the answer lay there. It turns out that XRX books, in their infinite wisdom (*sarcasm*) had decided to split the errata into two sections, one for the first printing and one for the fifth printing. Now, both sections clearly apply to my book, which is from the FOURTH printing. The last section contained the crucial errata for the row I was on – and the following three rows. The other shawl patterns that had errata to their charts had updated charts in the errata, but not the yellow Faroese one, so it was a fair bit of work making sure that my charts reflected the poorly edited written errata. It’s a great pattern, but if you’re dying to knit a Faroese shawl: Find another pattern.

6 Responses to “Faroese troubles”


  1. 1 Maggie 4 June, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    So sorry for your troubles! It sucks to be foiled by poor errata, especially when you put so much work into designing the yarn to suit the pattern (and then spinning it!).

    ALso, thanks for the tip to look elsewhere for Faeroe patterns. I am eagerly waiting for my new copy of Stahman’s Shawls & Scarves to arrive and can’t wait to get started. I am thinking of using a natural coloured yarn, like you have – seems more authentic (perhaps, but it’s probably really a matter of taste).

  2. 2 Kristen 6 June, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I hope things ease up on the shawl! Errata cam be so frustrating.

    Oh, yes, tag!

  3. 3 Pola 28 March, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Thank you for your careful notes. I too decided to cast on for this shawl and just last night ran into problems on row 5! So I took your direction and corrected my charts. You saved me a lot of trouble. And also, I agree with your comment about the weight of the yarn. I have cast on with worsted weight and the size 8 needles suggested in the pattern, and I like the result so far. I just wanted to let you know that your difficult experience and your care with writing about it here was not wasted! You certainly helped this knitter to avoid problems. Thanks again!

  4. 4 Kaite 1 April, 2010 at 3:39 am

    yep, had the same problems and i worked thru it sans the errata. But there was a lot of ‘frog’ stitching. Now i want to knit the white shawl and am frustrated by the “terse” chart.

  5. 5 Jeri 22 January, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    It would seem that xrx has rearranged their website and the errata s no longer there. Is it possible that you still have it?
    I’m Patternwhisperer on rav.

  6. 6 verdande 23 January, 2013 at 2:02 am

    Jeri, you’re right that the errata link is no longer current. Will update right away.


Leave a Reply

Archives


