Fun with Faroese

“I really can’t say enough about the pleasure of using your handspun. First you have the enjoyment of creating the yarn and then the satisfaction of turning it into fabric. Using your yarn to create a garment or other article of useful beauty completes the spinning process. Just as a chef needs to taste the dish to see whether the ingredients are in balance, using your yarn will make you a better spinner.”

– Maggie Casey in Start Spinning

Being liberated from the Great White Socks has me all giddy with creative possibilities. The little unassuming skeins of handspun BFL called me, and I’ve cast on for my Faroese shawl. Now, I have nowhere near enough yarn spun up (only about 280 metres so far, and part of that is a very inconsistent sample skein), but I figured that starting the project would give me added incentives to finish the spinning, and also, that knitting with the yarn would let me see if any changes need to be made to the spinning. I’d rather have a shawl with changes in the yarn than a whole shawl with crappy, unsuitable yarn.

FaroeseWIP 002

My thoughts so far: Mostly, I really, really like this yarn. It is VERY soft and just slightly elastic, and creates a lovely, springy garter stitch fabric. I’m knitting on 4.5 mm needles. I want to spin more consistently, not because I mind the occasional fluffy bits, but the slightly stringy bits are a little too thin and detract from the soft springyness. Also, in the beginning I was very careful to split the fibre to maintain the equal blend of all three colours. I now find that I really like the parts where there are slightly darker and slightly lighter stripes, so I will be less diligent about splitting and predrafting the roving into strips with equal amounts of each colour.

A close-up of one striped section:

FaroeseWIP 005

Speaking of this picture, can I just say how great nøstepinner are? The centre-pull ball on the right is wound entirely on a nice and heavy ballpoint pen that my husband gets at work. Winding is so easy, and at the end you have a nice, flat-top centre-pull ball, which won’t roll around on the floor. Also, I like that nøstepinne is a Norwegian loan-word into English. Usually, it’s the other way around.

1 Response to “Fun with Faroese”



  1. 1 Expat knits and crochets Trackback on 7 June, 2008 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


