Wrapping my mother in cozy warmth

Shetland Triangle FO back

Pattern: Shetland Triangle by Evelyn Clark from Wrap Style.

Yarn: Sandnesgarn Lanett in colour # 4028, 158 grams (a little over three balls).

Needles: 80 cm 4 mm Addi Turbos.

Dimensions:

Unblocked: 110 * 54 cm

Blocked: 173 * 73 cm

I worked 16 pattern repeats to get a bigger shawl (my mother wanted the shawl to reach her elbows. Of course, I had to test that:

Shetland Triangle FO wearing

I’m about right on size, I think.

I absolutely love this pattern! It is much easier to memorize than the Flower Basket Shawl, and I like the flowing nature of the pattern better. I want to make this pattern again for myself, but possibly in a slightly thicker yarn, as this shawl took quite some time to finish (although the first trimester knitting break didn’t help!)

Shetland Triangle FO detail

5 Responses to “Wrapping my mother in cozy warmth”


  1. 1 Linnea 28 October, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Oooh, that’s a lovely shawl! Just stunning, really – your mother is one lucky lady.

    (It’s also really inspiring to see finished shawls, as I sit here wondering if I’ll ever finish the recently-started monster lace triangle for my MIL, or if it will go the way of the afghan that’s been on the needles for over a year…)

  2. 2 Mum 28 October, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Yes, your mother is really a lucky lady. It’s beautiful.

  3. 3 Kathleen 4 November, 2007 at 3:46 am

    I think I commented on the wrong post but that is just an absolutely beautiful shawl. Don’t blame your mother for being proud.

  4. 4 Annie 6 November, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    Absolutely beautiful, and the color looks lovely with the pattern. This shawl is on my to-knit list, for sure!


  1. 1 Shetland on the Potomac « Trackback on 21 March, 2012 at 3:14 am

Leave a Reply

Archives


