Socks and the art of the gusset decrease

Trekking XXL sock

I’ve just picked up these socks again, after a lengthy hiatus. I bought the yarn in London in January, at the best little yarn shop I’ve ever visited, Stash Yarns in Putney. The colour is a gorgeous brownish red, a colour that I really should wear more of. I’m on the gusset decreases, after ripping out the heel turning a record FIVE times (it only works when I stop following the instructions in Knitting without Tears and start following the logic). I still have not mastered the art of the holeless foot-gusset transition, but some after-the-fact adjusting of tension got rid of the worst holes.

I don’t know what happened to the weather here. A week and a half ago it was thirty degrees, summer dresses and lazy winds. Now it’s howling winds with piercing rain and a decidedly chilly 14… If I tell you that due to building and maintenance work, our central heating won’t be turned on until September 15, do you understand where my sudden sock mojo is coming from? The question is, which will be faster, the building maintenance work or Expat knits’ knitting?

0 Responses to “Socks and the art of the gusset decrease”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


