Istrian ripple blanket

Last summer, just after I had started crocheting, we went on holiday to the Istrian peninsula in Croatia. My son loved the beach and the ocean. He could sit for hours at the water’s edge, sifting through smooth pebbles and throwing them in the water. I started this blanket for him shortly after we came back from holiday, thinking it would remind us of the varying colours and languid waves of the Adriatic.

Pattern: simple ripple pattern from a stitch dictionary. The stripe pattern was designed to emulate the slowly shifting colours of the sea. I chose six colours, sorted them in two groups (bluish and greenish), and alternated the two groups from darker to lighter. Then I made up a simple stripe pattern like this:

1
1
1
1
2
2
3
3
2
2
2
2
3
3
4
4

Yarn: Toptex Simplicity in six colours, around two balls of each.

Hook: 3.5 mm

Dimensions: 62 cm by 86 cm after washing and tumble-drying.

3 Responses to “Istrian ripple blanket”


  1. 1 bunchkin 22 June, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    I LOVE the row pattern, it looks amazing! And the colors look great together. So what are you going to do about the ends? (I hate dealing with ends!!!)

  2. 2 Samantha 23 June, 2007 at 4:30 am

    That is simply stunning!

  3. 3 twinstars 18 July, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    That’s a wonderful pattern. I love the colors you chose for the blanket! I will have to try making that myself.


Leave a Reply

Archives


