Fat bottom bag

This is a birthday present, and I’m really happy with how it came out. I made a few mistakes, mainly to do with adjusting for thinner yarn and smaller hook, but I don’t think it shows too much.

Pattern: Fat-bottom bag from Stitch ‘n bitch crochet

Yarn: Schachenmayr Punto (55 % cotton, 45 % acrylic) in color #73, 3.5 balls.

Lining: Some 100 % polyester fabric bought at the not-so-great yarn and fabric store.

Hook: 5 mm

Modifications: Mainly to do with size. 23 increase and decrease rows instead of 14, 30 plain rounds instead of 24.

Size: 30 cm wide/21 cm deep.

I have never tried lining anything before, and I’m really happy with the way it looks. Ironing and pinning the polyester was not easy, as it’s very slippery, but once it was pinned in place it was a breeze to sew it in. I couldn’t have done it without this tutorial. The magnetic snaps are sew-in, not the kind you hammer in, which wouldn’t have worked with the thin lining. You can’t get sew-in magnetic snaps here, so these are a gift from my mother-in-law who gets her bagmaking supplies from the US.

I made a small brooch to brighten up the bag as well. This is glass beads and a three-head kilt pin from Panduro Hobby. I think it looks good! Now, I only hope the birthday girl will be happy with it!

5 Responses to “Fat bottom bag”


  1. 1 Kristin 25 June, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Yes, she is very happy with it! Thank you 🙂

  2. 2 jenny 30 June, 2008 at 10:47 am

    hello,

    can you send me the pattern of this fat bag please

    thank you very much Jenny

  3. 3 Claudia 21 November, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    hello,

    can you send me the pattern of this fat bag please

    thanks

  4. 4 pookpik 27 November, 2008 at 8:49 am

    hello,

    can you send me the pattern of this fat bag please

    thanks

  5. 5 gerly g. villegas 7 January, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    hello, i really love the bag. and i am looking 4ward on acquiring a pattern. pls help me to acquire a free pattern.


Leave a Reply

Archives


