Sweater WIP

The other day I was at the not-so-exciting yarn store, when this Schachenmayr yarn caught my attention. I haven’t really knit with acrylic blends before, but I’ve seen them recommended for kids’ garments as they’re easily washable and lighter than pure cotton yarns. I decided to buy a few balls and start on a sweater for my son. I also haven’t knit in the round on circulars properly before (only on dpns and magic loop), and I wanted to try it. The yarn is not great – it splits worse than any other yarn I’ve ever worked with, including viscose blends, and it picks up tiny pieces of dirt all the time. After working and ripping once, it takes on a slightly worn look. However, it’s noticeably softer and lighter than the cotton yarns I use.

I haven’t quite decided how to end this sweater. I have several EZ books with directions for sweaters in the round, and hope to use her directions to make a raglan of some sort. I need a large neck opening, so I may go for a v-neck, split shoulder or just a slit like in a grandfather shirt. I don’t know how to do that yet, though, so there’s plenty of research to be done before this sweater will be finished.

0 Responses to “Sweater WIP”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


