What knitting has taught me about… me

Red mosaic

I’m not good with colours, I never have been. My wardrobe consists almost entirely of brown, beige and black. I thought they were my favourite colours. But then, when I was compiling my FO lists for 2006, something struck me: A large number of my FOs were in red, pink, orange or a combination of the three. The yarns I bought in London were orange and reddish. The yarns that call out to me in the yarn shops are red and orange. When leafing through books and magazines, I prefer the patterns whose models are knit up in warm colourways (in fact, the reason I’m knitting the Shetland triangle now is that I saw several blogged versions in a deep red. When I received the book, the pale blue pattern model almost put me off it), however irrational that may be.  

The conclusion is clear: Some subconscious part of me is rebelling against the beige-and-brown dreariness. I have a new favourite colour.

What has knitting taught you about you?

5 Responses to “What knitting has taught me about… me”


  1. 1 Dipsy D. 28 February, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Knitting has taught me something very similar: That I love way more different colours than the ones that were predominant in my wardrobe. Actually I’ve always thought that I don’t like orange – now I realized that orange is my absolutely favourite colour, it never fails to cheer me up and gets me happy just looking at it. And by the time I got more adventurous in wearing different, really bright colours – the blacks and browns that I used to have in my wardrobe are almost all gone or just kept as basics – to go along with shiney, bright colours. I really love this – and I love your colour choices of last year’s FOs!

  2. 2 Kristen 1 March, 2007 at 6:08 am

    What gorgeous reds! I especially love that Flower Basket Shawl.

    I think knitting has taught me that I have more patience to actually finish things than I believed I had. I tend to be sort of flighty in regards to starting too many projects, but I finish all my knits eventually. It gave me hope in other arenas as well.

  3. 3 hobbyzu 5 March, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    Those colors are gorgeous! A very similar thing happened to me with the whole color thing. I’ve always worn black and white and maybe some dark blue because I was never good with color. I always said black was my fav. color. I then began to notice that I owned a lot of objects in different shades of blue and realized my fav. color was cobalt blue about 5 yrs. ago. (never wore it until two weeks ago though) :-)I’ve now moved on to red. I own 2 red shirts!! lol You’re doing better than me, but I’ll use you as inspiration if you don’t mind. 🙂


  1. 1 Antidote « Expat knits and crochets Trackback on 27 June, 2008 at 12:13 pm
  2. 2 Finding my perfect red « Expat knits and crochets Trackback on 21 September, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


