Ah, the cuteness

Baby bib christening present

I regularly find that I need nice little knits, simple garter stitch squares, to intersperse with the serious, skills-building knitting. This is a christening present for a friend’s daughter, and I thoroughly enjoyed making it (although the embroidery was surprisingly fiddly).

Pattern: Loosely based on the Baby bib o’ love from Mason-Dixon Knitting.

Yarn: Schachenmayr Nomotta Catania color

Needles: 3.5 mm 80 cm Addis (my new favourite needles)

Modifications: I cast on 55 stitches, to make a bigger bib and to account for thinner yarn. I started the straps with 20 sts each, but decreased down to 17 using mirrored decreases to create a sloping neckline. I used this selvedge, which gave a very neat edge. The embroidered patch is an idea I’ve stolen from Bentemor. As usual, I added a series of buttonholes rather than just one, to make the bib suitable for a range of ages and to account for any stretching.

I’ll be getting back to my mitts and to my never-ending sock now. But I’ll have to take regular breaks to admire this bib before it’s sent out tomorrow!

4 Responses to “Ah, the cuteness”


  1. 1 mlegan 10 January, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Very cute bib. I like your variations, especially the extra buttonholes — clever.

  2. 2 Dipsy D. 12 January, 2007 at 7:56 am

    Oh, how very cute this is! I agree, sometimes these smaller, instant-gratification-projects are just so important between “bigger” projects -and this bib is definitely a really amazing one!

  3. 3 Kristen 17 January, 2007 at 6:55 am

    What gorgeous colors! I just got Mason Dixon Knitting, and have yet to try anything from it, but the bibs do look very satisfying. Cute bib!


  1. 1 Bibs from a repurposed pillow case « Trackback on 22 April, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


