Without a doubt the most beautiful thing I’ve ever made, with the exception of my son

Flower Basket Shawl

Pattern: Flower Basket Shawl from Fiber Trends/Evelyn A. Clark

Yarn: Lanett Superwash (100 % merino wool) from Sandnesgarn, color # 4028, about 1 1/3 ball used.

Size: Unblocked 80 cm across, 34 from neck to point. Blocked 108 cm across, 45 from neck to point.

I knit the smallest size (six repeats for a fingering weight yarn), and got a significantly smaller scarf than the pattern says, but I’m very happy with the final product. It’s small enough to make a good, non-bulky scarf, and provides just enough warmth if worn as a shoulder shawl. The colour is a little daring for me, but I like it intensely, with its strong, rusty tones.  The pattern is beautiful, even to non-knitter eyes.

Flower Basket Shawl

I’ve read about the miracle of blocking before, but when I dunked the dimply mess in a bath of wool soak and it just melted in my hands, I suddenly realised what everyone meant. Pinning it out was just amazing, turning it at once from an amateur, first-lace (or at least first finished lace) product to a thing of (I can’t believe the hyperbolic turn this post has suddenly taken) beauty. I will knit more lace. I must knit more lace.

Flower Basket Shawl blocking

4 Responses to “Without a doubt the most beautiful thing I’ve ever made, with the exception of my son”


  1. 1 Céline 4 December, 2006 at 1:37 am

    Your shawl looks fabulous! Congrats!

  2. 2 Katie 5 December, 2006 at 5:15 pm

    This looks beautiful. No wonder your friends had so many compliments.

  3. 3 Michelle 2 January, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Wow, beautiful!!! I think the color is perfect, and very striking.


  1. 1 Wrapping my mother in cozy warmth « Expat knits and crochets Trackback on 27 October, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives


