Keeping my mother happy: Thirteenth crochet project


FO spindle shawl with pin
Originally uploaded by ceecrochet.

You’ve seen this project before, lurking somewhere around the middle of lists of UFOs. For weeks I added about a row every day, losing interest when I realised how much farther I had to go. But the imminent arrival of the intended recipient lit a fire under my ass…

The pattern (from a mid-nineties Norwegian women’s mag) and yarn (Garnstudio’s Safran in #21, 3.75 balls) were both picked by my mother. I used a 3 mm hook.

Modifications: I crocheted only 13 pattern repeats, for a somewhat smaller shawl, and omitted the edging and fringe, both at the request of my mother (are you noticing a pattern yet?)

Dimensions: 137 * 105 cm

I can heartily recommend crocheting for your mother. Mothers are easily pleased and quick to praise. But I have to admit I would have been hard-pressed to make a bigger shawl than this…

1 Response to “Keeping my mother happy: Thirteenth crochet project”



  1. 1 Shetland on the Potomac « Trackback on 21 March, 2012 at 3:14 am

Leave a Reply

Archives


