Eleventh crochet project: Child poncho


Eleventh crochet project: Child poncho
Originally uploaded by ceecrochet.

This poncho took some time. I started it on 5 July and finished it yesterday. It’s made up of 36 3″ squares. The yarn is Schoeller+Stahl Limbo Superwash 100% virgin wool in Bordeaux (1.5 balls #4569), Natur (1 ball #4510) and Altrosa (1.5 balls #4582). I used 3 mm, 3.5 mm and 4 mm hooks, depending on the pattern stitch. One square is even knitted, in garter stitch on 3.5 mm needles.

I was very unsure of it when I was blocking and assembling the squares, but now that it’s all assembled I like it a lot. I thought about adding a fringe, but it’s a present for a three-year-old, and I think a fringe would only be a nuisance for her.

The pattern and idea is from Kids Crochet by Kelli Ronci. Now that I’m released from poncho purgatory I will experiment a little. I’ve bought a Tunisian crochet hook and will try a little Tunisian crochet, and I’ve already cast on to knit a dishcloth.

0 Responses to “Eleventh crochet project: Child poncho”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


